29
Jan
10

The Curbstone Critic 2nd Edition

“Why aren’t you just one of those little pinko, fussy-headed liberals
that will let all us right-wingers kick you and then ask us for more”, they say.
Why aren’t you more like Biden or Lieberman?

Well I am the kind of liberal I hope they hate as much as I hate them for trying to destroy all that is good and progressive about our country. I am mean as a snake, I have a loud mouth, and I have a blog and I am not afraid to use it. I love nothing more than a good street brawl, so I say to those who are terrified of their own actions, in the words of their own hero: “Bring it on”.

And, I am mad as hell.


The above is a quote from someone I knew well : enthusiastic blogger The Curbstone Critic. He was known as Curby to fans and foes alike.



We all personally know someone who is cranky like Curby. Some of these folks are raving liberals, too, and plenty of others are conservatives or authoritarians or libertarians or libertines or religious zealots or nature freaks or conspiracy theorists or the superstitious or simply The Hateful.

Curby was willing to engage in rhetorical shoving matches. That usually served him well, because he had the talent to win a confrontation.

I dislike that style of engagement.

We (you and I) have a relationship, regardless of the distance imposed by cyberspace or time. I want our relationship to be good, if not always friendly or agreeable. It is at least a practical consideration to note that rhetorical shoving matches seldom improve opinions or attitudes. Opinions often become more polarized, and attitudes become less flexible. I want our relationship to be constructive for both of us; I want a thoughtful dialogue. I want you to listen to me, read my words carefully, and respond to me. I pledge to be that careful in considering your words.

For those who cannot let themselves engage in constructive dialogue, I will often avoid them. There is little to be gained by stirring their buzzing nests instead of trying to offer something fun, funny, educational, or meaningful. Such folks who seek me, and send comments or messages to Hey! Get This . . . may simply enter my Dungeon, to be banned from posting. Only good people deserve to use the space and other readers’ time.

Curby had great friends. Some still miss him. He was a different person, in ways, to various people. Most cannot imagine the jokes he pulled on them – jokes which only I know about. He and I had a poor relationship, perhaps because of its uniqueness.

“John will be missed. It’s sad he was so cynical and full of hate.
His brains and wit could have been used somewhere constructively.” – Leroy

“I miss Curbstone. I went to about one meeting before his death.
When I told him who I was he made a big deal about me, like I was royalty.” – Desdinova


John ‘Jack’ Stone, ‘The Curbstone Critic’, died April 3, 2007.

He was my brother.

2 Responses to “The Curbstone Critic 2nd Edition”


  1. 1 Jim
    January 31, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    johnnykaje – He and I ‘had issues’, yet it is re-assuring to see that he added something to the lives of a number of people. Thanks for sharing. – Jim

  2. January 31, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your loss. I’m reading his blog now, and it’s clear that the world is worse off without him in it.


Leave a Reply

♥ Help for Haiti ♥

[http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j4/elsacade/boxcontents_large.jpg]

Basic Understanding

A nation of sheep will beget a government of wolves.
- Edward R. Murrow

Intellectual Property Notice

All original material Copyright James R. Stone 2010, except where specifically noted. Some images licensed under Creative Commons, or GNU Free Documentation License, or unlicensed and public domain.

More About . . .

I use Wrinkled brand skin conditioner to keep that worldly-wise, I-have-put-up-with-more-crap-than-you-can-dish-out, old-codger look.

You don't want to ask
about my cologne.

America Held Hostage

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers


